Go to content | Menu

EM Strasbourg Business School
Autres sites
EM Strasbourg Business School
EM Strasbourg Business School
be distinctive
Partners's logo

University of Strasbourg

EM Strasbourg is the only French Business School to be part of an internationally renowned university: the University of Strasbourg. European by nature and international by design, the University fosters innovation and positions itself for future excellence in education and research.

As a young university founded on an age-old tradition, the University of Strasbourg strives to achieve cross-disciplinarity to foster new research opportunities and offer courses that meet society’s needs. With more than 40,000 students, the University of Strasbourg is at the heart of Strasbourg and solidly anchored in the European higher education area. Thanks to the worldwide reputation of its research teams, built on excellence and efficiency, it is one of Europe’s foremost research universities.
Copyright : C.Schroder / University of Strasbourg
Copyright : C.Schroder / University of Strasbourg

Find out more about the University of Strasbourg on its website


Multidisciplinary education

The University of Strasbourg offers courses and programs that cover all disciplines:
  • arts, literature and sciences ;
  • law, economics and management ;
  • social and human sciences ;
  • science, technology and health.


Academic recognition of research

  • 4 Nobel prizes: Jules Hoffmann for the Physiology or Medicine category (2011), Jean-Marie Lehn in Chemistry (1987), Martin Karplus in Chemistry (2013) and Jean-Pierre Sauvage in Chemistry (2016) ;
  • 1 Fields medal: René Thom (1958) ;
  • 3 CNRS gold medals: Jules Hoffmann (2011), Jean-Marie Lehn (1981), Pierre Chambon (1979).


Well-known individuals linked to the University of Strasbourg

  • Marc Bloch (1886-1944), historian and founder of the influential Annales School of social history, lecturer at the University of Strasbourg, member of the French Resistance executed by the Nazis ;
  • Louis Pasteur (1822-1895), chemist and microbiologist, a researcher at the University of Strasbourg ;
  • Robert Schuman (1886-1963), founding father of Europe and alumnus of the University of Strasbourg ;
  • Jean-Claude Juncker (1954), President of the Eurogroup and a former law student at Robert Schuman University, incorporated into the University of Strasbourg in 2009 ;
  • Albert Schweitzer (1875-1965), Protestant theologian, musician, philosopher and physician, awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1952 ;
  • Charles Frederic Gerhardt (1816-1866), achieved the first successful synthesis of the basic molecule of aspirin, acetylsalicylic acid ;
  • Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832), poet, novelist, playwright and alumnus.

Date of update February 26, 2020

Share this!