School Leadership and Governance

EM Strasbourg is part of the University of Strasbourg, a university that is recognized worldwide for the quality of its research. The School is administered by a Board of Trustees representing all its stakeholders, internal and external, and a dean. Together, they define the strategic directions of EM Strasbourg Business School.

School Leadership and Governance - EM Strasbourg

The Dean of the School


Babak Mehmanpazir, administrateur provisoire de l'EM Strasbourg


Babak Mehmanpazir has been the Acting Dean of EM Strasbourg Business School since October 1, 2022. He was appointed by Véronique Perdereau, Education Officier for Higher Education, Research, and Innovation in the Grand Est academic region, on the recommendation of the President of the University of Strasbourg. This appointment follows the resignation of the former Dean, Herbert Castéran. 

Babak Mehmanpazir holds a PhD in economics and has been an associate professor of management sciences since 1996. In 1998, he joined the IECS, which later became EM Strasbourg, where he has successively held several positions:

  •  Head of the Master of International Trade from 1998 to 2005 
  • Dean of IECS (now EM Strasbourg) from 2005 to 2007 
  • Associate Dean for Programme Grande Ecole from 2008 to 2016 
  • Vice Dean for International Accreditations & Strategic Management since 2016 
  • Vice President for Continuing Education & Alumni Policy (Unistra) since September 2021 


The School Board of Trustees

The School Board of Trustees is made up of 34 members, including representatives of all the School's stakeholders (faculty, students, and administrative staff) as well as external figures. The Board of Trustees is currently chaired by Patrick Hetzel, elected from among the external figures for a renewable three-year term. 


The School Board of Trustees meets at least three times a year. Its responsibilities include the following:

  • Defining the School's educational and research programs 
  • Approving the School's budget and its implementation
  • Approving the School's statutes


The chair of the School Board of Trustees: Patrick Hetzel

Patrick Hetzel


A graduate of EM Strasbourg, Patrick Hetzel holds a doctorate in management sciences from Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University. He began his academic career as a lecturer at iaelyon. He became a professor of management sciences in 1997. After creating and directing the Management Sciences Research Center at the Panthéon-Assas Paris 2 University, he became Head of the Defense Studies Department at the French Institute of Advanced Studies in National Defense in 2001. He then held the position of Rector of the Limoges Academy and Chancellor of the university from 2005 to 2007. He was then appointed Advisor for Education, Higher Education, and Research in the cabinet of Prime Minister François Fillon at Matignon. Between 2008 and 2012, he was Director General for Higher Education and Professional Integration at the Ministry of Higher Education and Research and implemented the reform of universities resulting from the law on the freedoms and responsibilities of universities. In 2012, he was elected deputy of the seventh district of Bas-Rhin. He was re-elected in 2017. He sits on the Committee on Finance, Budgetary Control, and the General Economy at the National Assembly. He is Cochairman of the Mission for the Evaluation and Monitoring of Public Policies, Vice Chairman of the French Parliamentary Office for the Assessment of Science and Technology Options, and a member of the Bureau of the Franco-German Parliamentary Assembly. Patrick Hetzel was elected Chairman of EM Strasbourg in October 2017. His mandate was renewed for a period of three years in March 2021.


Composition of the School Board of Trustees (34 members):


10 research lecturer, lecturer, and researcher representatives 

College A (5):
Gilles Lambert
Jessie Pallud
Sébastien Point
Marie-Hélène Broihanne
Laurent Weill

College B (5):
Philippe Nanopoulos
Charlotte Massa
Jean-Philippe Bootz
Jocelyne Yalenios
Jean-Loup Soula


8 student representatives 

PGE Master's Program  (4):

Elie Dziomba
Mathilde Schenck
Léo Keiff
Ellyn Tribe

Master's Program (3):

Hugo Kohler-Rapp
Julie Hahn
Romain Ligeron

Bachelor's Program (1):

François Blumenroeder


2 administrative staff representatives  

Alexandre Blum
Giuseppe Malerba


14 external figures  


Figures appointed by authorities, organizations, or institutions (11):

Anne Sander, representative of the Région Grand Est Alsace/Champagne-Ardenne/Lorraine
Caroline Zorn, representative of the Eurometropolis of Strasbourg
Pierre Jachez, representative of the association EM Strasbourg Partenaires
Anne-Marie Jean,  representative of the association EM Strasbourg Partenaires
François Loos, honorary chair of the School Board of Trustees, representative of the association EM Strasbourg Partenaires
Olivier Klotz, representative of the business community appointed by the CCI Alsace Eurométropole
Catherine Siffermann-Conrad, representative of the business community appointed by the CCI Alsace Eurométropole
Jan Hellfritz, representative of the business community appointed by the CCI Alsace Eurométropole
Jean-Michel Haget, representative of the association EM Strasbourg Alumni
Élodie Heitz,representative of the association EM Strasbourg Alumni

Figures chosen by the School Board of Trustees (3): 

Etienne Henry
Manou Massenez, Vice chair of the School Board of Trustees
Patrick Hetzel, Chair of the School Board of Trustees


2022 Elections


2021 Elections

103.43 Ko

You May Also Like