Go to content | Menu

EM Strasbourg Business School
Autres sites
EM Strasbourg Business School
EM Strasbourg Business School
be distinctive
Partners's logo


The institutional context

As the only French business school to be part of an internationally renowned university – the University of Strasbourg – and recognized as a Grande Ecole, EM Strasbourg Business School is unique in France.

Being part of a public university enables us to offer programs and degrees in compliance with rules and regulations set out by French Higher Education and built around the common European structure established via the Bologna Process: +3 (Bachelor’s), +5 (Master’s), +8 (PhD). For instance, the School is one of very few French business schools accredited by the French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation to deliver a doctoral degree. This affiliation also helps us to establish unique relationships with other academic departments, schools and institutes within the University, such as engineering schools or the Institute of Political Studies, to deliver interdisciplinary degrees or undertake original interdisciplinary pedagogical initiatives.

EM Strasbourg established a Contract of Objectives and Means (COM) with the University of Strasbourg to benefit from an autonomous governing system that operates in close dialogue with the University’s governing bodies. The contract garantuees our autonomy and is designed to provide us with the means required to ensure our growth and development within the University. The latest COM was adopted for a five-year period in November 2017.


The School Governance

The current Dean, Dr. Herbert Castéran, was elected by the Board of Trustees in May 2016 and appointed to the position by the French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation following his election. The Dean’s mandate spans five years and is once renewable.

The main bodies in charge of developing and approving the general policies of the School are the following:
  • The Dean defines and implements the strategy, elaborates the budget and is responsible for human and financial resources as established by the law. He is also in charge of international and business relations as well as the research strategy and programme portfolio. To carry out his tasks, he is supported by the Management Board and the Executive Committee which are the School’s main decision-making bodies dealing with day-to-day issues.
  • The Executive Committee is composed of the Dean, the Vice Dean, the Associate Dean for Faculty Management and Research, the three Associate Deans for Programmes and the Head of Administration. It meets every two weeks and deals with research policy, faculty management policy and the creation of new programmes.
  • The Management Board includes in addition to the members of the Executive Committee the Associate Dean for International Relations, the Business & Corporate Development Director, the Director of Communications and Student Recruitment, and the Chief Information Officer. It meets every two weeks and is the main decision-making body for the School’s day-to-day business.
  • The School’s Board of Trustees makes financial and strategic decisions. Its composition is prescribed by national law and consists of thirty-four members: ten research lecturer and lecturer representatives (four-year terms), eight student representatives (two-year terms), two administrative staff representatives (four-year terms), fourteen external members (three-year terms), namely qualified key figures and representatives of local authorities, businesses and organisations in the social economy sector and alumni.
  • The Faculty Management Committee is headed by an elected Associate Dean for Faculty Management and Research, implements faculty management policy and deals with hiring as well as career management while four Heads of Academic Areas are in charge of evaluations, qualifications and recruitment needs.
  • The AoL Committee evaluates the achievement of the learning objectives for the programmes, proposes changes to improve curriculum and decides which action plans should be carried out in each programme.
  • The Programme Boards of Studies make day-to-day program-related decisions.
  • The two Research Centre Directors make the day-to-day decisions regarding each research centre. The Scientific Research Council of each research centre makes more strategic decisions involving, for instance, the membership of new researchers.

Date of update February 24, 2020

Share this!